Status details for London Borough

Status:London Borough
Number of units in system:
Geographical Level: 9 (Middle-level District)
ADL Feature Type:countries, 3rd order divisions
Is a status within:Local Government District

Full Description:

By the 1950s the City of London had spread into a large portion of the surrounding 'Home Counties'. The Local Government Act of 1963 (11&12 Eliz.II, c 33 effective 1965) replaced the previous system of Metropolitan Boroughs with the new area of Greater London, comprising parts of Surrey, Kent, Essex, Hertfordshire, the entire administrative counties of Middlesex and London, the county boroughs of West Ham, East Ham and Croydon plus eighty-three non-county boroughs and urban districts. A "provision of the act stipulated that no area was to be in a parish, but rather in newly constituted London Boroughs" (Youngs p. XV). Thirty-two new London boroughs were created which succeeded all existing local authorities from the 1st April 1965. These boroughs varied in size, but were of equal legal status, although the title of some differs, for example the City of Westminster, Kingston upon Thames or Chelsea Royal Borough. This Act did not affect Middle Temple, Inner Temple, the City of London or its Common Council.