East Riding  Yorkshire


In 1887, John Bartholomew's Gazetteer of the British Isles described East Riding like this:

Yorkshire, East-Riding, in the SE. of the county; is separated from the North-Riding by the Derwent, and from the West-Riding by the Ouse; on the E. it is bounded by the North Sea, and on the S. by the Humber; area, 750,828ac., pop. 315,460. The principal industries are the agricultural. Fine crops of wheat, beans, and hay are grown on the level tracts of Holderness and the banks of the Humber, and of barley and turnips on the Wolds, where the soil is a light, friable, calcareous loam. ...

(For agricultural statistics, see Appendix.) Industries other than agricultural are carried on principally at Beverley and Hull, the latter of which is a great seaport. The East-Riding comprises 6 wapentakes; 352 pars, with part of another; the parl. and mun. bor. of Kingston upon Hull (3 members); and the mun. bors. of Beverley and Hedon. It is entirely in the diocese of York. For parliamentary purposes it is divided into 3 divisions - viz., Holderness, Buckrose, and Howdenshire, each division returning 1 member; the representation of the East-Riding was increased from 2 to 3 members in 1885.

East Riding through time

East Riding is now part of East Riding of Yorkshire district. Click here for graphs and data of how East Riding of Yorkshire has changed over two centuries. For statistics about East Riding itself, go to Units and Statistics.

How to reference this page:

GB Historical GIS / University of Portsmouth, History of East Riding in East Riding of Yorkshire | Map and description, A Vision of Britain through Time.


Date accessed: 21st February 2024

Not where you were looking for?

Click here for more detailed advice on finding places within A Vision of Britain through Time, and maybe some references to other places called "East Riding".